The Darkroom London

Whilst looking through my sketchbook, my lecturer advised me to look into the website The Darkroom London. So, I did and found some really interesting patterns and textures from their interiors section. Native Line Wall Hanging - Inti StripeI especially liked their textiles wall hangings which incidently reminded me of some of the yarn wrappings that I had been making for my project. I especially like the use of their more shiny looking yarns against their matt black; which definitely suits the industrial feel I want to translate into my own knits.

tribalala blanketI also took note of how they use colour within their designs and the proportions of each colour within selected pieces, as my lecturer said it was something I should really focus on whilst creating my knits. I like the rug to the right, how they incorporated bold colours within an equally bold print and I’m hoping to emulate this successful work within my own knits.

Leave a Reply

