Window Dressings

As part of my research, I decided to look into window dressings of various different shops such as; Bloomingdales, Harrods and Selfridges. Since I’ve decided to focus on interiors rather than fashion for my project, I thought it would be really useful to see how they laid out and displayed their merchandise.

Bloomingdales:

 

I thought that Bloomingdales was really impressive and offered such a diverse way to show off what they have to sell within their store. I especially liked how colourful and pretty dramatic each set was and gave me many ideas in how I could approach my own work.

Selfridges:

 

I felt that the Selfridges window displays were amazing! The use of lighting, colour and set up were just spectacular and much more like a show than a simple shop window. They were dynamic, creative and dramatic and definitely great inspiration for my project!

Harrods:

 

When looking at images of Harrod’s Window displays, I wasn’t as inspired as I had been with the previous two shops. I felt that they weren’t as eye catching or imaginative as either Bloomindales or Selfridges; but I did quite like the colour schemes they used.

Leave a Reply

