Life Drawing

This semester I have felt much more enthusiastic than I usually do with life drawing and it’s probably because the work I have been producing has been a lot better than previous years of the subject.

I have always enjoyed working with charcoal and this year is no exception. This piece on the left I completed within 45 minutes and I’m really happy with the outcome. It’s one of the first times within life drawing that I have managed to create a resemblance between my drawing and the model. I have always felt comfortable using charcoal and have to stop myself from using it every single time I attend a class. Another charcoal piece that I completed and was happy with was this to the right. Again it was a 45 minute pose, but the model was in costume. I enjoyed having the added challenge of clothing and trying to distinguish between the skin tone and clothing.

Another technique that I have much fondness for is quink ink and bleah, which works great when wanting to contrast greatly between light and shade. I first apply the quink ink to the page and then begin drawing the model with a light coloured pencil before adding bleach with a paintbrush to create the highlights. I feel that this piece was quite successful and my life drawing tutor was really enthusiastic about it.

More of my life drawing from university and college can be found here, here, here and here.

3 comments

  1. […] Life Drawing. […]

  2. kl: impressive work, and i’ve reposted…thx for sharing! RT

    1. Oh wow, thank you so much! And thank you very much for linking back to my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

